Listen to our Podcast
The Latest News



Posted Apr-29-24 at 4:03 PM By Dan Davis

Vintage Formula B Continental Series Feature May 31-June 2 with Laps for Laguna

History repeats. The SCCA pro-series for Formula B cars was created 55 years ago in 1969.  On May 3-4, 1969 a field of 53 Formula B cars arrived at Laguna Seca to challenge the original, fast, circuit with its double kinked front straight and be surprised by the super-tight over 90 degree final turn 9.  In the first qualifying session the fast pole time was turned on Lap 12 by Dan Davis in his high winged Lotus 41C, but on lap 13 he crashed on oil dumped by Ray France's Brabham.  Mike Eyerly in the final qualifying  session in his Brabham BT 18 eventually edged out John Milledge in his BT 21 Brabham for race pole.  The one hour race was a classic with Eyerly edging out Milledge for the win.  Ed Leslie, Titan Mk 3 was third, Dan Davis finished fourth in his now wingless Lotus 41C after an all night rebuild.  Cars in the race included Brabham, Lotus, Cooper, Titan, McLaren, Bourgeault, Chevron, Lola, LeGrand and Winkelmann.

The May 31-June 2 Laps for Laguna with CSRG will feature the second race in the 2024 FB Continental Series, the second of six on the 2024 schedule held across the US.

Info: Darrell Le Blanc, 503-200-4687 (WA), [email protected]

Posted in: News
FaceBook FaceBook
Powered By Zomix Content Management Systems copyright © 2024